News for Atascadero, CA|Thursday, July 7, 2022
You are here: Home » Business » SLO Museum of Art announces two new board members

SLO Museum of Art announces two new board members 

slo museum of artMuseum is also announcing its new executive committee

– The San Luis Obispo Museum of Art has announced two additions to its board of directors. New board members Cheryl Cuming and Sandi Sigurdson both bring experience in business and non-profit management to the museum. Their terms started on June 1, and this brings the number of San Luis Obispo Museum of Art board members to thirteen.

With 35 years in non-profit management, Sandi Sigurdson brings hands-on experience in strengthening community engagement, elevating arts management, and promoting environmental policy. From her varied career, including positions at Leadership SLO, the San Luis Obispo Symphony, and the Environmental Center of SLO, Sigurdson has proven to be a leader in lifting people up, initiating human-centered processes, and facilitating change.

Cheryl Cuming’s career has included public relations, marketing, brand development, advertising, sales operations, and tourism district administration. After moving to San Luis Obispo, Cuming became the VP of Advertising at The Tribune in 2001. In 2010 Cheryl became the Chief Administrative Officer of the Unincorporated San Luis Obispo County Tourism Business Improvement District, working with 8 tourism boards across 10 unincorporated coastal communities. Cuming has served on many boards and committees including the SLO Chamber of Commerce, The Hearst Cancer Resource Center, San Luis Obispo Symphony, the YMCA, Leadership SLO, SLO Wine Collective, Cal Poly Recreation/Tourism Advisory Council, and Cal Poly’s Local Economic Development Council.

“We are positively thrilled that these two stellar individuals have joined the Museum’s Board,” said SLOMA Executive Director, Leann Standish. “Both have demonstrated a commitment to this community, and it is our goal to enhance the Museum’s engagement in all sectors and with residents throughout the region.”

In addition, the museum is announcing its new executive committee. It is comprised of current board members, with Barbara Bell as President, Ermina Karim as Vice President, and Trudie Safreno as Treasurer. Chuck Crotser remains as secretary.

More information can be found at

Subscribe to the A-Town Daily News for free!

About the author: News Staff

News staff of the A-Town Daily News wrote and edited this article from local contributors and press releases. Scott Brennan is the publisher of this newspaper and founder of Access Publishing. Connect with him on , Twitter, LinkedIn, or follow his blog. He can be reached at

A-Town Daily News on Google
A-Town Daily News | 7343 El Camino Real #235 | Atascadero, CA 93422 | (805) 226-5720